Sign in to follow this  
Hoodoo Man

Eddie and Ric RIP

I want to acknowledge the passing of a couple amazing musicians this past weekend.  Although losing Eddie Money or Ric Ocasek was not the same gut punch as losing Tom was its still a major loss to the classic rock community.  Tom and Eddie were certainly friends and Eddie had some nice things to say when Tom passed away. I grew up in the 70s/80s and want to share a fond remembrance of that time with my fellow Pettyheads.  

I don't recall exactly how old I was when I started riding my bike to the local library but I can narrow it down to between 13-15 years old more likely the younger time point, it was about 2 miles and included a brutally steep hill getting there (and a blissfully fun hill coming back I might add) but for a few New England summers I would ride my bike to the library to borrow some records. My parents had one of those huge old console record players and I would periodically when nobody was home let that sucker blast at 11 on the dial and the thing rivaled the stereo I have now for loudness.  Foreigners Juke Box Hero was a favorite, loved the Doors and Zepplin and was discovering our Tom.  Eddie Money had a few albums I borrowed often Just loved to listen to Shakin at full blast and I'm sure the No Control album played a role in my tinnitus. Still have the vinyl for that one after all these years as I eventually bought myself a copy...  :)