Skyfreighter

New news on Learning to Fly video? Extras etc.?

I'm hoping maybe someone has found new info on the making of the Learning to Fly video from 1991 in Tucson. I've got some to share that I have not seen posted. I've had no luck on the pool scene. The nightclub scene was filmed at the Gaslight Theater there in Tucson. Still there and very popular. The stage arrangement is still the same. The Jimmy Hendrix double was a local diner chef. The beautiful painted girl who stole the show is still a mystery to all it seems. I hope she is alive and well and happy. She danced beautifully. I think that all the dancers were U of A students. Any news would be welcome.

Much appreciate hearing from you! I fly for a living so the planes are a day at the office. Looks like a lot of Convairs, a Grumman Albatross and a couple of Beech 18s with a B-25(maybe) thrown in. I'm really interested in the final scene since the painted girl seems to simply have vanished. I've been able to find the names of several extras and dancers etc. but the final scene seems to be the toughest.

BTW- Tom was right. Coming down is the hardest part. LOL

Tom always said it like he saw it. I think he may have meant kooks. It's his attitude toward his calling that made him the ultimate professional he became. He just did what he did. Always had a plan for how. Never forgot who he was. To me that defines success in anything. I'll bet he's still writing.

Hey Big Blue Sky. Just remembered. The boneyard where they filmed the aircraft segments is now owned by K- Tech Aviation. You'll notice that most of the cockpit windows on the aircraft are missing. The reason for that is that used, serviceable windscreens bring a premium in sales. New are rediculously expensive. (Spent many years as a mechanic on aircraft). One thing I noted after about 6000 viewings of the video! Duh on me! Lot of the older birds are still active. Cheers!