Sign in to follow this  
dylanfree

Mike on "Room At The Top"

Mike's solo is so freaking sublimely beautiful. I have been playing guitar for 35 years and I truly have no idea where and how his chops come from.

I love his playing, 

My fave guitar players (no order):

Mike C

Peter Green

Zappa

Chuck Berry

Let me know....Mike

Top Of The world. His solo is freaking amazeballs

Sure is.. The man is an "at the top" Genius! Got it.

And.. somewhere among the stalls and boxes of this barn, or in the wide open pastures we roam, you may find more stuff about favorite axe men in general and.. obviously.. about MC in particular.

11 hours ago, dylanfree said:

Mike's solo is so freaking sublimely beautiful. I have been playing guitar for 35 years and I truly have no idea where and how his chops come from.

I love his playing, 

Yeah, I'm amazed at players and their fluidity on the guitar. Some of my favorite players in no particular order: Joe Satriani, Hendrix, Mike Campbell, Mike McCready (Pearl Jam) Lyle Workman, Joey Santiago, Rich Gilbert, Page, Stone Gossard, there's probably more I can't think of right now.

As for solos, I think his Runnin Down A Dream is my favorite. I think most of his work stands out because of the succinct melodies he'd play through a song, memorable guitar patterns perfectly timed, though I like when he went longer like at the end of One More Day, One More Night from Echo or the strange work in It Ain't Nothing To Me.

Lately I was excited to see him let loose with the Dirty Knobs on some jammy songs or when they covered Petty.

His live work from the 99 Echo tour, the live instrumental showcase for him and the band is really good. My recommendation:

https://livepetty.com/1999-07-10-mansfield-pa-sbd/

On 2 March 2019 at 5:06 PM, dylanfree said:

Top Of The world. His solo is freaking amazeballs

Agree! Listening to "Room At The Top" as part of new release albums. Mike's solo is indeed, as you say, freaking amazeballs.