Sign in to follow this  
dollardime

Dog On The Run 'Tearjerker '78 Advance Copy'

Well this is an awesome live version of Dog On The Run that I for one havn't heard before. The poster on youtube has this one down as a '78 LP. Perhaps this 'Tom Petty Tearjerker '78' was a planned live LP idea that ultimately didn't see the light of day. My best guess is that this 'Dog On The Run' is from the BBC TV Old Grey Whistle Test programme in the UK 1977 (judging by the presenters accent at the end of the song).....other songs from this Old Grey Whistle Test '77 are out there on youtube, but not this 'Dog On The Run' until now, well at least it's my first time coming across it.. it's definitely not the Rockpalast Germany '77 TV show Dog, which is different to this version. Any one have the definitive low down on this?

Anyway, enjoy this Dog On The Run, it's certainly far from a tearjerker. It's heading straight to my favorites file. This song and this version ROCKS with that distinctive raw loose young Heartbreakers live energy of the late 70's that I particularly love! Dam I have a particular fondness for that particular live era of the bands career before it torpedoed into a different phase of the many phases since of the bands evolution shortly after that time.:)